WIFI, Backtrack and MAC Spoofing

Hardcore

Carder
Reaction score
WiFi, Backtrack (And Mac Spoofing)

MAC Spoofing
What software you use for this depends on what OS you are using.

Ubuntu

Sudo apt-get install macchanger
Now when you want to change your Mac address, do it in the following format: macchanger [options] device
You can get a full list of options by typing in macchanger --help

Windows
Windows has a variety of programs that allow you to change the MAC address. Some cost money and some do not. One I found is called Technitium and it appears to be free. I cannot make any endorsement of this software product, but it appears to be legitimate and work fine. It has an easy to use GUI to help you change your MAC address.

Macintosh
There seem to be a wide variety of ways to spoof the Mac on Macintosh computers (I am far from an expert with Macintosh, having used one only once for the purpose of writing the Mac part of these tutorials), some of them working on some systems and not others, etc. So I am going to have a hard time explaining how to do this with a Macintosh.
For some, this works:
From a terminal type in the following: sudo airport -m [new mac]
If this technique does not work for you, I suggest you research the matter on your own and try and figure a solution out. I am sure there is some way to do it with a Mac, but the problem seems to be there are many ways to do it and it is different for different operating system versions and architectures. If you find a way to do it send me the details and I will add it here.

WEP Cracking
For cracking WEP we are going to be using a special tool called Backtrack. Backtrack is an operating system that essentially has the point of making it very easy for you to crack WiFi, so find a copy of it and burn it to a disc. Now boot from it. If you get your WiFi card bridged properly to a virtual machine you could do this from there as well.